Planning Commission

The Planning Commission works in conjunction with the local governing body to share the responsibility for directing future growth in the jurisdiction.  The Board works with the community to craft a Comprehensive Plan that defines a vision for how the town will look and function in the future.  The Planning Commission is tasked with executing the Comprehensive Plan by creating and applying appropriate implementation tools (such as zoning and subdivision regulations) and implementing State planning initiatives.

The Planning Commission members review, evaluate and approve or disapprove plans for subdivision and site plans in accordance with the Town Zoning Ordinance and Subdivision Regulations.  They make recommendations on Ordinance amendments and annexations to the Mayor & Commissioners and make recommendations on special exceptions to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Click here for link to New Board Member Training through the Maryland Department of Planning.

Board Members (5 year term)

Name Title
David Wiseman Chair (February 2023)
G. Edward Ginder Vice Chair (January 2020)
Richard Keane Member (February 2023)
Keith Thompson Member (May 2021)
William Muller Member (February 2019)
James Hutchinson Member (August 2023)
Syndicate content