

The Mayor and Commissioners Of the Town of Elkton

Resolution R5-2009

A **RESOLUTION** of the Mayor and Commissioners of the Town of Elkton approving the application submission to the State of Maryland, Department of Housing and Community Development, for *Community Development Block Grant* funds to support the *Thomson Water Tower on East Village Road Rehabilitation* project.

WHEREAS, the State of Maryland, by its Department of Housing and Community Development, has solicited applications from eligible political subdivisions of the State to apply for funds under the *Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)* program; and

WHEREAS, the Town of Elkton is eligible to apply for funding under the aforementioned program through the Department of Housing and Community Development; and

WHEREAS, the Mayor and Commissioners have identified and initiated development of the project, specifically the *Thomson Water Tower on East Village Road*, hereinafter "the Project", which has been described in more detail in the application; and

WHEREAS, a public hearing relating to the application under the CDBG program was held on May 6, 2009, 7:05 p.m. at the Elkton Municipal Building, Council Meeting Room, 100 Railroad Avenue, Elkton, Maryland.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Mayor and Commissioners of the Town of Elkton hereby resolve the following:

- 1. That the application be submitted to the State of Maryland, Department of Housing and Community Development, for funding assistance in the amount of Two Hundred Thirtyfour Thousand Nine Hundred Ten Dollars and Fifty Cents (\$234,910.50) under the Maryland Community Development Block Grant program for the Project; and
- 2. That Mayor Joseph L. Fisona shall hereby be authorized and empowered to execute any and all documents required for the submission of said application.

READ AND PASSED THIS 6TH DAY OF May, 2009

The Mayor and Commissioners of the Town of Elkton

Mayor Joseph L. Fisona Commissioner Charles H. Givens, Sr. Commissioner Mary Jo Jablonski Commissioner Earl M. Piner, Sr. Commissioner C. Gary Storke