

The Mayor and Commissioners Of the Town of Elkton

Resolution 4-2008

"Maryland Municipal League Geocache Trail Resolution"

WHEREAS, Town of Elkton is a member of the Maryland Municipal League hereafter (MML), a voluntary, nonprofit, nonpartisan association controlled and maintained by city and town governments; and

WHEREAS, The MML works to strengthen the role and capacity of municipal government; and

WHEREAS, Tourism is one of the top industries in the United States and Maryland generating jobs and tax revenue; and

WHEREAS, Tourists dine, shop, sightsee and seek entertainment in Maryland; and

WHEREAS, Maryland residents make up one third of the State's tourists; and

WHEREAS, The MML works to educate citizens about the fact that only 157 of the place names on the State map are incorporated cities or towns; and

WHEREAS, Geocaching (a high-tech treasure hunt) is a rapidly growing form of tourism where people use GPS units to find the caches that individuals and organizations have hidden all over the world and then share the information about these caches on the internet; and

WHEREAS, The Maryland Municipal League Geocache Trail will be exclusively composed of caches hidden in Maryland cities and towns; and

WHEREAS, The Maryland Municipal League Geocache Trail will be publicized in many ways by the MML, the Maryland Geocaching Society, and the Maryland Office of Tourism; and

WHEREAS, Visitors using the Maryland Municipal League Geocache Trail will learn about Maryland cities and towns while contributing to their economy.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE TOWN OF ELKTON

- ❖ Will participate in the Maryland Municipal League Geocache Trail.
- ❖ Will work with the MML and the Maryland Geocaching Society to locate an appropriate place for our municipality's Geocache.
- * Will maintain the Geocache.
- ❖ Will adhere to geocaching standards and procedures.

READ AND PASSED THIS 15th DAY OF OCTOBER, 2008

Mayor and Commissioners of the Town of Elkton

Mayor Joseph L. Fisona Commissioner Charles H. Givens, Sr. Commissioner Mary Jo Jablonski Commissioner Earl M. Piner, Sr. Commissioner C. Gary Storke